Inter's summer schedule

INTER'S SUMMER SCHEDULE

Friendlies galore for Italian champions in run-up to new season

MILAN - For the fourth year running, Italian champions Inter will be in the mountain location of Brunico for pre-season training. This summer's two-week training camp will run from 14-25 July, after a mini training camp in Sardinia from 9-14 July.

The first Brunico training session will take place at the local sports centre on the afternoon of Saturday 14 July. As part of their preparations for the 2007/08 season, the Nerazzurri will play three friendlies during their fortnight stay in the mountains. Mancini's players face the Chinese Olympic team on Tuesday 17 July, with two other games scheduled for Saturday 21 July and Tuesday 24 July (opponents to be announced).

After the Brunico training camp, Inter will fly to England for a further week's training from Friday 27 July to Saturday 4 August. The following friendly matches have been arranged:

Saturday 28 & Sunday 29 July: Emirates Cup four-team tournament - Arsenal, Inter, Paris Saint Germain and Valencia. Inter v Valencia (Sat 28 July at 14:00GMT); Arsenal v Inter (Sun 29 July at 16:15GMT)
Wednesday 1 August: Manchester United v Inter (20:00 GMT)
Saturday 4 August: Aston Villa v Inter (15:00 GMT)

The squad will fly back to Italy directly after the Villa friendly in Birmingham.

Preparations for the 2007/08 season continue on Wednesday 8 August at the Stadio San Paolo in Naples, where the Nerazzurri will face off with newly promoted teams Napoli and Juventus in the 11th Birra Moretti Trophy.

Inter return to the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza on Tuesday 14 August for the 7th Tim Trophy tournament against AC Milan and Juventus. Five days later on Sunday 19 August, Inter play their first competitive fixture of the new campaign. Mancini's Serie A champions face Tim Cup winners Roma in the Italian Super Cup for the second consecutive season.

The 2007/08 Serie A championship kicks off on Sunday 26 August, with several fixtures to be brought forward to Saturday due to TV scheduling. Inter then face Barcelona at the Nou Camp in the Joan Gamper Trophy on Wednesday 29 August.


Load More