MILAN - Inter players Fabio Grosso and Marco Materazzi are among the nominees for uefa.com's Team of the Year 2006, which include eight of Italy's World Cup-winning squad. Now in its sixth year, the poll gives uefa.com users the chance to select a team of players and one coach who have made their mark in European football over the last year. Sixty players and coaches have been nominated for 12 positions (11 players plus coach), with the final team to be announced on 19 January 2007 on uefa.com. The nominees were selected by uefa.com staff writers on the basis of their performances for a European club or national team in 2006.

Team of the Year 2006 nominees

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Jens Lehmann (Arsenal), Petr Cech (Chelsea), Grégory Coupet (Olympique Lyonnais), Andrés Palop (Seville)

Right-backs: Gianluca Zambrotta (Barcelona), Willy Sagnol (Bayern Munich), Emmanuel Eboué (Arsenal), Daniel Alves (Seville), Juliano Belletti (Barcelona)

Left-backs: Fabio Grosso (Inter), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Eric Abidal (Olympique Lyonnais), Giovanni van Bronckhurst (Barcelona), Rodolfo Arrubarrena (Villarreal)

Central defenders: Fabio Cannavaro (Real Madrid), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Kolo Touré (Arsenal), John Terry (Chelsea), William Gallas (Arsenal), Lilian Thuram (Barcelona), Rafael Márquez (Barcelona), Cris (Olympique Lyonnais), Marco Materazzi (Inter), Roberto Ayala (Valencia)

Central midfielders: Andrea Pirlo (AC Milan), Mahamadou Diarra (Real Madrid), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), Claude Makelele (Chelsea), Torsten Frings (Werder Bremen)

Right midfielders: Gennaro Gattuso (AC Milan), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Franck Ribéry (Olympique Marseille), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

Left midfielders: Adriano Correia (Seville), Florent Malouda (Olympique Lyonnais), Juan Pablo Sorín (Hamburg), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Ronaldinho (Barcelona)

Attacking midfielders: Kaká (AC Milan), Juninho Pernambucano (Olympique Lyonnais), Deco (Barcelona), Juan Román Riquelme (Villarreal), Michael Ballack (Chelsea)

Strikers: Samuel Eto'o (Barcelona), Thierry Henry (Arsenal), Miroslav Klose (Werder Bremen), Luca Toni (Fiorentina), Didier Drogba (Chelsea), Andriy Shevchenko (Chelsea), David Villa (Valencia), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Ajax), Frédéric Kanouté (Seville), Henrik Larsson (Helsingborgs)

Coaches: Arsène Wenger (Arsenal), Frank Rijkaard (Barcelona), Marcello Lippi (Italy), Juande Ramos (Seville), Jürgen Klinsmann (Germany)

Load more