Calhanoglu\'s two-time lucky penalty: the photos

Calhanoglu\'s two-time lucky penalty: the photos



Team

Apr 4th 2022

The match-winning moment in which the Turk had to take his spot kick twice


Inter came away from Turin with a 1-0 win thanks to a Hakan Calhanoglu penalty. It was a really nerve-wracking moment for fans as VAR had both Inter and Juventus supporters’ hearts in their mouths on two occasions.

With one minute to play Alvaro Morata and Alex Sandro got in a tussle with Denzel Dumfries in the box. The Dutchman went to ground yet referee Massimiliano Irrati waved play on. However, VAR then determined that in fact Dumfries had been fouled and awarded a penalty.

From 12 yards out Calhanoglu struck low to Wojciech Szczesny’s right but the Pole managed to parry it, setting off a frantic scramble in the box in which Matthijs de Ligt ended up putting it in the back of his own net.

Irrati then blew up for a foul by Calhanoglu on the Bianconeri’s Dutch centre back, thus ruling out the goal. Then VAR intervened once more and determined that in fact De Ligt was guilty of entering the penalty area before Inter’s number 20 had struck his penalty, meaning that a retake was necessary.

Finally, after many minutes of waiting, Calhanoglu had another chance from the spot. This time around he made no mistake, and his strike ultimately won the game for the Nerazzurri.  


Italian version
Team

Related news

All news
COMO, ITALY - AUGUST 12: Head Coach Simone Inzaghi of FC Internazionale speaks with the media during the FC Internazionale Press Conference to present  Lecce v Inter at Appiano Gentile on August 12, 2022 in Como, Italy. (Photo by Mattia Ozbot - Inter/Inter via Getty Images)

Team

6 hours ago

Inzaghi: "We have worked well, we're ready and raring to go"


Explore news topics

All news

Team


All partners


Language

Terms & ConditionsPrivacy PolicyCookies

Copyright © 1995 — 2022 F.C. Internazionale Milano P.IVA 04231750151